Download PDF Overcoming Adversity - Baseball's Tony Conigliaro Award

Overcoming Adversity – Baseball’s Tony Conigliaro Award (The SABR Digital Library Book 44)

by Bill Nowlin.

Product Details:

  • File Size: 5689 KB.
  • Print Length: 360 pages.
  • Language: English.

Download Overcoming Adversity – Baseball’s Tony Conigliaro Award:


Description of Overcoming Adversity – Baseball’s Tony Conigliaro Award:

Overcoming Adversity – Baseball’s Tony Conigliaro Award (The SABR Digital Library Book 44)

The Tony Conigliaro Award is given each year to the MLB player who “overcomes an obstacle and adversity through the attributes of spirit, determination, and courage that were trademarks of Tony Conigliaro.” Conigliaro was hit in the face by a pitch in 1967. His injuries were so severe that he did not return to the playing field until 1969, homering on Opening Day. Despite his dramatic return, Conigliaro continued to be plagued with vision problems and was forced to retire at age 30. Instituted in 1990 by the Red Sox to honor Conigliaro after his death, the award has been given to 29 players including Rocco Baldelli, Dickie Thon, Jim Abbott, Curtis Pride, and R.A. Dickey. The life stories of these players have been gathered in this book through the collective efforts of 27 authors and editors who are members of SABR, the Society for American Baseball Research.

Professional athletes perform seemingly superhuman feats at work every day. While they possess extraordinary skills, they, too, must persevere through human struggles, both physical and personal. Many MLB players have overcome significant adversity, obstacles, and disabilities to achieve their dreams on the diamond. The 29 athletes who have been presented with the Tony Conigliaro Award offer inspirational examples of ballplayers who have overcome significant adversity to enable them to pursue their professional careers.


Introduction by Clayton Trutor
The Red Sox and the Tony Conigliaro Award by Bill Nowlin
The BBWAA and the Tony Conigliaro Award
Tony Conigliaro by Bill Nowlin
1990 – Jim Eisenreich by Scot Johnson
1991 — Dickie Thon by Bob LeMoine
1992 — Jim Abbott by Rick Swaine
1993 — Bo Jackson by Norm King
1994 — Mark Leiter by Clayton Trutor
1995 — Scott Radinksy by Gregory H. Wolf
1996—Curtis Pride by David Laurila
1997 — Eric Davis by Norm King
1998 — Bret Saberhagen by Alan Cohen
1999 — Mike Lowell by Bill Nowlin
2000 — Kent Mercker by Clayton Trutor
2000 — Tony Saunders by David E. Skelton
2001 – Graeme LLoyd by Rory Costello
2001 — Jason Johnson by Ryan Brecker
2002 — Jose Rijo by Charles F. Faber
2003 — Jim Mecir by Rick Swaine
2004 — Dewon Brazelton by Rich Bogovich
2005 — Aaron Cook by Joy Hackenmueller and Bill Nowlin
2006 — Freddy Sanchez by Rich Bogovich
2007 — Jon Lester by Saul Wisnia
2008 — Rocco Baldelli by Eric Frost
2009 — Chris Carpenter by Donna L. Halper
2010 — Joaquin Benoit by Mark Brunke
2011 — Tony Campana by Mark S. Sternman
2012 — R.A. Dickey by Skip Nipper
2013 — John Lackey by Susan Lantz
2014 — Wilson Ramos by Joel Rippel
2015 — Mitch Harris by Mike Huber
2016 — Yangervis Solarte by Gordon Edes
Pride and Perseverance: The Topps Baseball Card Set by Bill Nowlin
The Hutch Award by Clayton Trutor
The Lou Gorman Award


Related eBooks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × 1 =

Download eBook (.pdf)

  • Download eBook (.epub)

  • Download eBook (.mobi)